AdrenalineX Forums

General => AdrenalineX Development => Topic started by: [MAF]Rac3r on January 08, 2010, 12:11:54 pm

Title: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]Rac3r on January 08, 2010, 12:11:54 pm
Nooo, don't touch the highscores code  ;D

Last night I recoded the highscores (it's been the same since day 1 of Adrenaline1.06).

We now run a race array holding the time, a lot easier and quicker than opening, reading and checking the highscores.
From what I've tested, it works good.

mooman mentioned the votemenu lag, I'm thinking it's due to the race files at the end of the race been opened. With the new array it only loads the file once (at the start of race), it will only save if highscores have changed.

This post is a heads up just in case we have problems.

Thanks for listening and this will hopefully increase the servers performance. (Also with arrays, we'll soon be having /top [number] which can see either 1 to 20 of the top times for the race.

Note: /top5 [trackname] is offline till this is up and running smoothly..
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [FSR]Ush on January 08, 2010, 12:14:25 pm
Thanks for listening and this will hopefully increase the servers performance. (Also with arrays, we'll soon be having /top [number] which can see either 1 to 20 of the top times for the race.

woooo

You're the man!   ;D ;D
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]Rac3r on January 08, 2010, 12:52:54 pm
Woop, it works good.

Only restart server when there is no new highscores (silly coding error, soon to be resolved).

I did this to compete with Andre's coding improvements with the forum ;)

HighScore( racename ) : Used once to get highscore
SaveTrackHighScoreList( ) : Only used if highscores are new
ReadTrackHighScoreList( display ) : Only formats a string to display
LoadHighScoreForRace( ) : Used once to get highscores
CheckAgainstHighScore(playerid, time) : Checks a players finish time, resorts the array

The above is so quick and efficient. The below is the old system :

HighScore(Track[]) : Called once, but never stored
ReadTrackHighScoreList(track[24], display, playerid, all) : Called for /top5 (file opened, read, stringed)
CheckAgainstHighScore(playerid, time) : Checks a players finish time (loads, checks, formats, saves)

Was a ugly and slow method, with 50 players we needed a quicker solution.
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [FSR]Ush on January 08, 2010, 01:07:36 pm
So we got top20 now? woo!
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]Aj_Lajk_Bir on January 08, 2010, 01:12:46 pm
top 20 nice :D
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]Rac3r on January 08, 2010, 01:41:35 pm
Currently got top10 active on server, works good.
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]Sighmoan on January 08, 2010, 01:53:45 pm
Hooray, i might start appearing in the top * again then :D
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]Rac3r on January 08, 2010, 03:00:21 pm
Hooray, i might start appearing in the top * again then :D
lol same
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [2F2F]SNiKeRiS on January 08, 2010, 03:25:48 pm
Started the new year with great news that's cool. Cheers!  :D
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: KariranY on January 08, 2010, 03:35:19 pm
This is awesome... since I haven't been to server after this update, does it still announce when someone hits record (like 9th) on public?
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: Witchfynde on January 08, 2010, 04:26:09 pm
Why is the highscore page down? I mean it shows 0 races and no data.
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]Aj_Lajk_Bir on January 08, 2010, 05:57:23 pm
Note: /top5 [trackname] is offline till this is up and running smoothly..

hard to read all?
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: falco355 on January 08, 2010, 05:58:53 pm
it's not now /top5 but /top20.
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]Aj_Lajk_Bir on January 08, 2010, 06:04:19 pm
another...
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [FSR]Ush on January 08, 2010, 06:32:17 pm
Bug?

(http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/9751/gtasa2010010819262629.jpg)
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]Rac3r on January 08, 2010, 06:51:37 pm
Possibly lag, the time above you actually slower.
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: ﱡ קּﻰﺢ Love on January 08, 2010, 08:43:20 pm
Youve done a nice thing Rick.Now there will be challenge for more drivers.We have too many great drivers.So youve hit the bullseye lol
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]Cthulhu on January 08, 2010, 10:19:02 pm
woop, that's awesome!  :D
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [2F2F]SNiKeRiS on January 08, 2010, 10:22:20 pm
I know its just being added but for the record there is a bug. Type /top5 and you see for example two 5 highscores or 7 or any others  :)
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [FSR]Mach5 on January 09, 2010, 10:48:19 pm
you see all higshcores maden by /top5
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]Rac3r on January 10, 2010, 03:30:26 pm
/top5 will show top five records

Not the best way, but it will do for now  /top5 [total] will show top times for the total, example /top5 20 will show 20 records.

Regarding Cheatdelete
The records should display a unique ID for the record, use this to delete the record. If unique ID says 10   /cheatdelete 10
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]Sighmoan on January 10, 2010, 05:23:40 pm
Could you get the highscore page to look up your user ID to highlight your name(s) on the page to make it easier to see your records? I guess it would have to link somehow the forum logon to the racer name on the server.
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [FSR]Ush on January 10, 2010, 05:25:35 pm
Could you get the highscore page to look up your user ID to highlight your name(s) on the page to make it easier to see your records? I guess it would have to link somehow the forum logon to the racer name on the server.

ctrl+f and search for [UK]Simon ? XD
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: ﱡ קּﻰﺢ Love on January 10, 2010, 09:32:19 pm
Highlight is better. :P If not tricky to make.Otherwise search works fine.Id like to see more search options like finding first records you have, seconds you have etc. till 20 ? :o Also searching for races you have record on for a specific vehicle.I mean some selections of filtering through that huge race list.
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]mooman on January 16, 2010, 07:59:54 am
i've added an option to the HS page so you can see the top 20 highscores instead of just 5. the leaderboard will be a bit different on that page because it gives 20 points to the #1 rec instead of just 5 and 15 points to #6 instead of 0 :)
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]falky on January 16, 2010, 08:15:27 am
i've added an option to the HS page so you can see the top 20 highscores instead of just 5. the leaderboard will be a bit different on that page because it gives 20 points to the #1 rec instead of just 5 and 15 points to #6 instead of 0 :)

coooooooooooool
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [FSR]Ush on January 16, 2010, 11:16:05 am
goooooooooood job  :D
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [AK47]skunk on January 16, 2010, 11:38:43 am
Nice ;) But why in extended highscores is my old name (skunk_PL)?
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]Aj_Lajk_Bir on January 16, 2010, 11:51:44 am
nice  ;D
Title: Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
Post by: [MAF]mooman on January 16, 2010, 11:52:57 am
because you had a 6th record when my highscore changer only did recs 1-5. now it does all 20 and it's been fixed ;)