Author Topic: /votepause [Rejected: Could be abused]  (Read 4524 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Witchfynde

  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
/votepause [Rejected: Could be abused]
« on: August 03, 2010, 03:19:37 pm »
It should be made that if there is no admin on and theres a long race there could be /votepause, that if enough people use that the race would get extra 50 seconds added.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2010, 09:38:47 am by SighMoan »
Kurrackt grammer, seenteks n cahpeetahleezey-shun art ye mates.

Offline [FSR]Ush

  • Admin
  • Posts: 13,449
  • Aart
    • View Profile
Re: /votepause
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2010, 04:47:04 pm »
Better report a race for not having enough time so an admin can add extra time to it.

Offline ZeeK

  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: /votepause
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2010, 05:24:19 pm »
Better report a race for not having enough time so an admin can add extra time to it.

+1


Or, /votepause allowed for those who have started the race since the countdown
cuz if someone come in /race too late, it's his fault, we don't have to wait him.

Offline [MAF]Rac3r

  • Leader
  • Posts: 2,807
  • Well, this is embarrassing.
    • View Profile
Re: /votepause
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2010, 08:52:16 am »
Good suggestion to fix the problem we have, but I don't think a vote pause is the best option. Flopster also mentioned a flaw, I think this needs resolving.

Example:

DoubleYou : 11 second race, 90 second countdown till next race
LeMans-GT : 600 second race, 90 second countdown till next race

Obviously with DoubleYou there would be no need for more than 10-15 seconds countdown for the next race, but LeMans-GT is 600 seconds, so maybe more than 90 seconds is needed for the other racers to finish.

I'd rather calculate an extended auto-countdown on 1st finisher. I'll look into it.

Offline [MAF]mooman

  • Leader
  • Posts: 6,299
    • View Profile
Re: /votepause
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2010, 09:00:49 am »
i think it should be based on highscores not first finishers because of hackers. we could just average something like the 5th to 10th highscore times (leave out the first 5 cos of hackers) and then times that by 1.4+15 seconds at the start. EDIT: plus another 15 seconds in which to vote
Doubleyou: 15+(11*1.4)+15 = 45
LeMans: 15+(600*1.4)+15 = 870

and, last of all, to make sure this only applies to races in which proper records have been set, we just need to check the mysql race counter and only do it if the race has been raced like 6+ times
« Last Edit: August 06, 2010, 09:04:15 am by mooman »
will read and answer your forum PMs when I'm less busy!

Offline [MAF]Rac3r

  • Leader
  • Posts: 2,807
  • Well, this is embarrassing.
    • View Profile
Re: /votepause
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2010, 10:23:20 am »
Again, nice maths lol Seems a better solution to what I had in mind, also the hacker records I forgot to defend against.

Code: [Select]
if(GetRecordData[0][RecordData] > 0)gRace[gTrackTime] = GetRecordData[0][RecordData]/900;Definitely a lot better than what I coded, I'll change it to your maths, seems a good solution and well defended against hacked times.

Offline [MAF]mooman

  • Leader
  • Posts: 6,299
    • View Profile
Re: /votepause
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2010, 10:35:29 am »
maths saves the day once again :L
will read and answer your forum PMs when I'm less busy!

Offline [MAF]Rac3r

  • Leader
  • Posts: 2,807
  • Well, this is embarrassing.
    • View Profile
Re: /votepause
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2010, 10:44:04 am »
True :P
Code: [Select]
    if(GetRecordData[5][RecordData] > 0)
    {
        new Float:a = GetRecordData[5][RecordData]/1000;
        a = a * 1.4;
        a = a + 15;
        gRace[gTrackTime] = FloatToInt(a);
    }
Check it mooman, I think I've followed what you said.

Offline [MAF]mooman

  • Leader
  • Posts: 6,299
    • View Profile
Re: /votepause
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2010, 11:46:28 am »
Code: [Select]
    if(GetRecordData[5][RecordData] > 0 && GetRecordData[6][RecordData] > 0 && GetRecordData[7][RecordData] > 0 && GetRecordData[8][RecordData] > 0 && GetRecordData[9][RecordData] > 0 && GetRecordData[10][RecordData] > 0) {
        new Float:a = (GetRecordData[5][RecordData]+GetRecordData[6][RecordData]+GetRecordData[7][RecordData]+GetRecordData[8][RecordData]+GetRecordData[9][RecordData]+GetRecordData[10][RecordData])/5/1000+30;
        gRace[gTrackTime] = FloatToInt(a);
    }
change the 30 to 15 if you're adding the countdown at the start separately
will read and answer your forum PMs when I'm less busy!

Offline MadMax

  • Lazyass, still hanging around AX from time to time
  • Admin
  • Posts: 4,359
  • I'm the road warrior...
    • View Profile
  • In-game name: MadMax[MAF]
Re: /votepause
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2010, 02:21:54 pm »
btw can you incerease 600 seconds limit to 1500?

for:
170
Winston_Cup
LS_Street_Series_GP
SF_Street_Series_GP

600 ceconds is not enough, (not even half of race)

PLEASE, IGNORE ALL MY SPELLING MISTAKES AND OTHER TYPOS True racing fans enjoy horsepower in ANY form

Offline [MAF]Rac3r

  • Leader
  • Posts: 2,807
  • Well, this is embarrassing.
    • View Profile
Re: /votepause
« Reply #10 on: August 07, 2010, 07:27:19 am »
Track time is now pretty much ignored once records are set, don't worry.

Offline [MAF]mooman

  • Leader
  • Posts: 6,299
    • View Profile
Re: /votepause
« Reply #11 on: August 07, 2010, 01:01:52 pm »
i think maybe it show be a bit slower since you really do have to hurry to finish now. maybe x1.5 instead of 1.4? i think it's great though, really gets rid of boredom and i think less people are leaving because no more waiting for hours! :D
will read and answer your forum PMs when I'm less busy!