Author Topic: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]  (Read 9277 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline [MAF]Rac3r

  • Leader
  • Posts: 2,807
  • Well, this is embarrassing.
    • View Profile
Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« on: January 08, 2010, 12:11:54 pm »
Nooo, don't touch the highscores code  ;D

Last night I recoded the highscores (it's been the same since day 1 of Adrenaline1.06).

We now run a race array holding the time, a lot easier and quicker than opening, reading and checking the highscores.
From what I've tested, it works good.

mooman mentioned the votemenu lag, I'm thinking it's due to the race files at the end of the race been opened. With the new array it only loads the file once (at the start of race), it will only save if highscores have changed.

This post is a heads up just in case we have problems.

Thanks for listening and this will hopefully increase the servers performance. (Also with arrays, we'll soon be having /top [number] which can see either 1 to 20 of the top times for the race.

Note: /top5 [trackname] is offline till this is up and running smoothly..

Offline [FSR]Ush

  • Admin
  • Posts: 13,449
  • Aart
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2010, 12:14:25 pm »
Thanks for listening and this will hopefully increase the servers performance. (Also with arrays, we'll soon be having /top [number] which can see either 1 to 20 of the top times for the race.

woooo

You're the man!   ;D ;D

Offline [MAF]Rac3r

  • Leader
  • Posts: 2,807
  • Well, this is embarrassing.
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2010, 12:52:54 pm »
Woop, it works good.

Only restart server when there is no new highscores (silly coding error, soon to be resolved).

I did this to compete with Andre's coding improvements with the forum ;)

HighScore( racename ) : Used once to get highscore
SaveTrackHighScoreList( ) : Only used if highscores are new
ReadTrackHighScoreList( display ) : Only formats a string to display
LoadHighScoreForRace( ) : Used once to get highscores
CheckAgainstHighScore(playerid, time) : Checks a players finish time, resorts the array

The above is so quick and efficient. The below is the old system :

HighScore(Track[]) : Called once, but never stored
ReadTrackHighScoreList(track[24], display, playerid, all) : Called for /top5 (file opened, read, stringed)
CheckAgainstHighScore(playerid, time) : Checks a players finish time (loads, checks, formats, saves)

Was a ugly and slow method, with 50 players we needed a quicker solution.

Offline [FSR]Ush

  • Admin
  • Posts: 13,449
  • Aart
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2010, 01:07:36 pm »
So we got top20 now? woo!

Offline [MAF]Aj_Lajk_Bir

  • Admin
  • Posts: 5,031
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2010, 01:12:46 pm »
top 20 nice :D

Offline [MAF]Rac3r

  • Leader
  • Posts: 2,807
  • Well, this is embarrassing.
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2010, 01:41:35 pm »
Currently got top10 active on server, works good.

Offline [MAF]Sighmoan

  • Admin
  • Posts: 1,599
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2010, 01:53:45 pm »
Hooray, i might start appearing in the top * again then :D

Offline [MAF]Rac3r

  • Leader
  • Posts: 2,807
  • Well, this is embarrassing.
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2010, 03:00:21 pm »
Hooray, i might start appearing in the top * again then :D
lol same

Offline [2F2F]SNiKeRiS

  • Admin
  • Posts: 3,892
    • View Profile
    • 2F2F website
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2010, 03:25:48 pm »
Started the new year with great news that's cool. Cheers!  :D

Offline KariranY

  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2010, 03:35:19 pm »
This is awesome... since I haven't been to server after this update, does it still announce when someone hits record (like 9th) on public?

Offline Witchfynde

  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2010, 04:26:09 pm »
Why is the highscore page down? I mean it shows 0 races and no data.
Kurrackt grammer, seenteks n cahpeetahleezey-shun art ye mates.

Offline [MAF]Aj_Lajk_Bir

  • Admin
  • Posts: 5,031
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2010, 05:57:23 pm »
Note: /top5 [trackname] is offline till this is up and running smoothly..

hard to read all?

falco355

  • Guest
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2010, 05:58:53 pm »
it's not now /top5 but /top20.

Offline [MAF]Aj_Lajk_Bir

  • Admin
  • Posts: 5,031
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2010, 06:04:19 pm »
another...

Offline [FSR]Ush

  • Admin
  • Posts: 13,449
  • Aart
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #14 on: January 08, 2010, 06:32:17 pm »
Bug?


Offline [MAF]Rac3r

  • Leader
  • Posts: 2,807
  • Well, this is embarrassing.
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #15 on: January 08, 2010, 06:51:37 pm »
Possibly lag, the time above you actually slower.

Offline ﱡ קּﻰﺢ Love

  • Admin
  • Posts: 1,936
  • Elements of life: Air, Water, Oil, Fuel
    • View Profile
    • LSR Forum
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #16 on: January 08, 2010, 08:43:20 pm »
Youve done a nice thing Rick.Now there will be challenge for more drivers.We have too many great drivers.So youve hit the bullseye lol
Sign-A-True

Offline [MAF]Cthulhu

  • Admin
  • Posts: 6,331
  • Trance, Progressive, Techno <3
    • View Profile
  • In-game name: [MAF]Phobos
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #17 on: January 08, 2010, 10:19:02 pm »
woop, that's awesome!  :D

Offline [2F2F]SNiKeRiS

  • Admin
  • Posts: 3,892
    • View Profile
    • 2F2F website
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #18 on: January 08, 2010, 10:22:20 pm »
I know its just being added but for the record there is a bug. Type /top5 and you see for example two 5 highscores or 7 or any others  :)

Offline [FSR]Mach5

  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #19 on: January 09, 2010, 10:48:19 pm »
you see all higshcores maden by /top5

Offline [MAF]Rac3r

  • Leader
  • Posts: 2,807
  • Well, this is embarrassing.
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #20 on: January 10, 2010, 03:30:26 pm »
/top5 will show top five records

Not the best way, but it will do for now  /top5 [total] will show top times for the total, example /top5 20 will show 20 records.

Regarding Cheatdelete
The records should display a unique ID for the record, use this to delete the record. If unique ID says 10   /cheatdelete 10

Offline [MAF]Sighmoan

  • Admin
  • Posts: 1,599
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #21 on: January 10, 2010, 05:23:40 pm »
Could you get the highscore page to look up your user ID to highlight your name(s) on the page to make it easier to see your records? I guess it would have to link somehow the forum logon to the racer name on the server.

Offline [FSR]Ush

  • Admin
  • Posts: 13,449
  • Aart
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2010, 05:25:35 pm »
Could you get the highscore page to look up your user ID to highlight your name(s) on the page to make it easier to see your records? I guess it would have to link somehow the forum logon to the racer name on the server.

ctrl+f and search for [UK]Simon ? XD

Offline ﱡ קּﻰﺢ Love

  • Admin
  • Posts: 1,936
  • Elements of life: Air, Water, Oil, Fuel
    • View Profile
    • LSR Forum
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #23 on: January 10, 2010, 09:32:19 pm »
Highlight is better. :P If not tricky to make.Otherwise search works fine.Id like to see more search options like finding first records you have, seconds you have etc. till 20 ? :o Also searching for races you have record on for a specific vehicle.I mean some selections of filtering through that huge race list.
Sign-A-True

Offline [MAF]mooman

  • Leader
  • Posts: 6,299
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #24 on: January 16, 2010, 07:59:54 am »
i've added an option to the HS page so you can see the top 20 highscores instead of just 5. the leaderboard will be a bit different on that page because it gives 20 points to the #1 rec instead of just 5 and 15 points to #6 instead of 0 :)
will read and answer your forum PMs when I'm less busy!

Offline [MAF]falky

  • Admin
  • Posts: 2,750
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #25 on: January 16, 2010, 08:15:27 am »
i've added an option to the HS page so you can see the top 20 highscores instead of just 5. the leaderboard will be a bit different on that page because it gives 20 points to the #1 rec instead of just 5 and 15 points to #6 instead of 0 :)

coooooooooooool

Offline [FSR]Ush

  • Admin
  • Posts: 13,449
  • Aart
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #26 on: January 16, 2010, 11:16:05 am »
goooooooooood job  :D

Offline [AK47]skunk

  • Admin
  • Posts: 1,059
    • View Profile
    • AK47
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #27 on: January 16, 2010, 11:38:43 am »
Nice ;) But why in extended highscores is my old name (skunk_PL)?

Offline [MAF]Aj_Lajk_Bir

  • Admin
  • Posts: 5,031
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #28 on: January 16, 2010, 11:51:44 am »
nice  ;D

Offline [MAF]mooman

  • Leader
  • Posts: 6,299
    • View Profile
Re: Beta Test [ Highscores Changes ]
« Reply #29 on: January 16, 2010, 11:52:57 am »
because you had a 6th record when my highscore changer only did recs 1-5. now it does all 20 and it's been fixed ;)
will read and answer your forum PMs when I'm less busy!